palindromes  //  projects //  publications //  artists //  who we are //  contact //  fr


palindromes

At the start, palindromes is two people: Mariane Bourcheix-Laporte and Anne-Marie Proulx. Mariane is in Vancouver, Anne-Marie is in Montreal. They work together to encourage and facilitate the creation of artists’ books in which works appear as such, complete, as opposed to being shown fragmented in the form of documentation. They believe that the distance existing between people generates a space that fosters creation.

palindromes wants to bring together the work of artists from different disciplines and milieus, so that these may connect, inform and complete one another. In the process of concretizing projects, the printed medium not only serves as a support, but also adopts a significant role in the creation of artists’ works and in their combination. palindromes wants to initiate the meeting of ideas and creative intents so as to allow for a reflection combining multiple voices.

palindromes aspires to build a creative chain, in which the one will influence the other, the former will incite the latter, and so on. From this will result a community of artists who, without necessarily working with each other, will nevertheless be influenced by one another.

Amidst the pages and sheets where images and texts are laid out, palindromes wants to leave open blank spaces, interstices in which you are invited to enter and speculate on your own terms.

//

Mariane Bourcheix-Laporte is an artist and independent curator based in Vancouver. She received an MFA from Simon Fraser University in 2012. She has realized curatorial projects and exhibited work across Canada. http://marianebourcheixlaporte.wordpress.com/

Anne-Marie Proulx is an interdisciplinary artist and writer based in Montréal. She is currently an MA student in Art History at Concordia University, where she also completed a BFA in Studio Arts, after a year at the Nova Scotia College of Art and Design University in Halifax, Nova Scotia. She is a member of the artist-run centre Centre des arts actuels Skol. Her work has been exhibited in Québec, Nova Scotia, and British Columbia. http://www.annemarieproulx.com/

//

palindromes started under the name MAAM, used for a first project titled LETTRES/LETTERS.

palindromes  //  projets //  publications //  artistes //  à propos //  contact //  en


palindromes

palindromes est, au départ, deux personnes: Mariane Bourcheix-Laporte et Anne-Marie Proulx. Mariane est à Vancouver, Anne-Marie à Montréal. Elles travaillent ensemble pour faciliter et encourager la création de livres d’artiste, dans lesquels l’œuvre veut apparaître complète, et non sous forme de documentation fragmentée. Elles croient que la distance qui existe entre les gens ouvre un espace propice à la création.

palindromes veut réunir le travail d’artistes issus de différents milieux et disciplines, de sorte que ceux-ci s’allient, s’informent, et se complètent. Dans la concrétisation des projets, le médium imprimé ne sert pas seulement de support, mais tient un rôle primordial dans la construction des œuvres des artistes et dans leur mise en commun. palindromes veut provoquer la rencontre d’idées et d’intentions, qui permette d’ouvrir une réflexion impliquant plusieurs voix.

palindromes veut créer une chaine créatrice, où l’un va encourager l’autre, où le précédent incitera le suivant, et ainsi de suite. En résultera une communauté d’artistes qui se seront, sans avoir nécessairement travaillé ensemble, influencé les uns les autres.

Dans les pages ou les feuilles où textes et images sont étalés, palindromes veut laisser des espaces blancs et ouverts, des interstices où vous êtes invités à entrer et à spéculer à votre tour.

//

Mariane Bourcheix-Laporte est une artiste et commissaire indépendante vivant actuellement à Vancouver, BC. Elle a obtenu une maîtrise en arts visuels de l’Université Simon Fraser en 2012. Elle a réalisé et participé à des expositions à travers le Canada. http://marianebourcheixlaporte.wordpress.com/

Anne-Marie Proulx est une artiste et auteure qui vit et travaille à Montréal. Elle est étudiante à la maîtrise en histoire de l'art de l'Université Concordia, où elle a également complété un baccalauréat en arts visuels, après l'avoir débuté au Nova Scotia College of Art and Design à Halifax en Nouvelle-Écosse. Elle est membre du Centre des arts actuels Skol. Son travail a été présenté au Québec, en Nouvelle-Écosse et en Colombie-Britannique. http://www.annemarieproulx.com/

//

palindromes a débuté ses actions sous le nom MAAM, le temps du premier projet intitulé LETTRES/LETTERS.